A Game for a Red Hoodie

 photo e03cef62-07f5-444f-8fb3-a1a7f07f0681_zps45c221b5.jpg

I’m trying to cultivate more gratefulness in my life so I’ve committed to writing 5 full pages of things I’m thankful for every day for the month of January. (I found this exercise in a book called Calling In The One. I highly recommend it.) If you’ve ever tried doing this, it’s fairly DIFFICULT. Even after I’ve thank God/the universe for all the good things, the mundane things and even all the shitty things in my life, I still get stumped. But the thing too is, you will ALWAYS complete 5 pages. There really are that many things in the world to be grateful for AND MORE. So while my goal was to cultivate gratefulness in my life, I deliciously ended up cultivating abundance as well. I do enjoy how these things go together.

I’m going to be Little Red Riding Hood in a play later this month so I thought it’d be a good time to pick up a red jacket or hoodie. I decided to play a game for it, much in the same way that I got the venue for my Seattle goodbye party: I was going to shake the universe down until what I wanted fell out at my feet. I had a picture in my head of what I wanted it to look like (red, plain, no logos) and some vague idea of the price (not 1290PHP/ ~$28USD). At first I was quite tentative about looking, not particularly caring whether I got one or not. The first red hoodie we saw was 1290PHP and that was ludicrous. I’ll get a red scarf if it came down to it, I thought to myself.

But that changed when I went to a low end mall with my brother a few days back. It was much less luxurious than many of the other malls we’d visited and I perked up. Since the main purpose of the red hoodie was a play (three uses max), I was willing to compromise on quality if I needed to.

The first thing that happened was that the color red became more vivid. It was everywhere. People’s clothes, the merchandise, the tables in the food court. It showed up more prominently than any other color in my eyes.

And then it was like tons of people were wearing red hoodies. Not everyone, but I started pointing them out to my brother as kids in red hoodies ran past us or when we met the saleslady who had one around her shoulders.

We found two red hoodies in the mall that day. One was second hand and smelled like it and was childish to boot. That would’ve fit the Little Red character but was still somewhat disappointing. The other cost 675PHP (~$15USD) which I still felt was more than I wanted to spend and was covered in logos, including “New York City.” (More on that some other time.) Anyway, we walked out of that mall empty handed and went home.

But now it felt much more like finding the right red hoodie was inevitable. The abundance of abundances was in full swing in my life and it was just pure play. There was an abundance of 2015 planners in my house (I have no idea WHY) and we stuffed ourselves silly with an abundance of food at a buffet. I had an amazing conversation with an old college friend about moving to DC this morning. “There are tons of opportunities,” he said, quite contrary to every fearful thought I and my friends ever had about the US job market. “This is such a nerdy town,” he added. “I am quite with my own tribe.” And in that moment I thought, of course.

After the buffet, I went back to red hoodie shopping and they were everywhere. So many near misses, I was struggling with the mix of price point, design, and quality when I found this XL Kid’s red hoodie at Uniqlo for 790PHP (~$17USD). I was playing for something a little closer to $12 and a darker red, but this was perfect.

Now my new problem seems to be that I have too much red in my life.

Special thanks to Peter, Manang Jo and the rest of my family for the big assist on getting my red hoodie!

(Photo credit: Nicole)

Leave a Reply

